Honors and Awards

AES faculty include the current UW Provost, who has also served as Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences, Executive Vice Provost, Chair of Psychology, Chair of American Ethnic Studies, and Director of the UW Honors Program. Also in the AES faculty ranks are a former Special Assistant to the Provost, the Director of the Diversity Minor, the former Director of the Teachers for a New Era program, and a former Director of the UW Program on the Environment. Major awards and leadership positions in national organizations held by our faculty include:

Faculty Honors and Awards

Recipient Award Title Date
American Ethnic Studies OCA Golden Circle Award 2023
Connie So UW Outstanding Public Service Award 2023
Jang Wook Huh ACLS Fellowship 2023
Juan Felipe Herrera Frost Medal for Lifetime Achievement 2023
Monica Cortes-Viharo Public Humanities Fellowship 2022
Alina Mendez Career Enhancement Fellowship 2022
Jang Wook Huh Constance M. Rourke Award 2022
Jang Wook Huh NFH Fellowship 2022
Monica Cortes-Viharo Husky 100 Award 2017
Rick Bonus Excellence in Mentoring Award 2016
Lauro Flores Ohtli Award 2016
Sonnet Retman Royalty Research Fund Award 2015
Connie So First Citizens Award 2015
Linh Thuy Nguyen Summer Graduate Teaching Fellowship 2014
Stephen Sumida Association for Asian American Studies Lifetime Achievement Award 2013
Sonnet Retman Undergraduate Research Mentor Award 2013
Devon Peña  NACCS Scholar of the Year Award 2013
Linh Thuy Nguyen Lucie Cheng Award 2012
Oliver Rollins Rosenberg-Hill Research Fellowship 2012
Erasmo Gamboa UW Timeless Award 2011
Ana Mari Cauce APA James M. Jones Lifetime Achievement Award 2011
Ana Mari Cauce UW Luis F. Esteban Award for Public Service  2010
Sherman Alexie Native Writers' Circle of the Americas, Lifetime Achievement  Award 2010
Sherman Alexie Puterbaugh Award 2010
Sherman Alexie California Young Readers Medal 2010
Tetsuden Kashima UW James D. Clowes Award for the  Advancement of Learning Communities 2009
Sherman Alexie American Library Association, Odyssey Award 2009
Tetsuden Kashima National Japanese American Citizens League, Japanese   American of the Biennium Award 2008
Stephen Sumida Fullbright Lectureship 2007-2008
Lauro Flores UC Riverside, The Tomás Rivera Lifetime Achievement Award 2008
Erasmo Gamboa UW Outstanding Service Award 2007
Lauro Flores UW Distinguished Teaching Award 2007
Connie So Leadership in Teaching Award 2007
Sonnet Retman Woodrow Wilson Junior Faculty Career Enhancement Fellowship 2006-2007
Sherman Alexie PEN/Faulkner Award 2007
Sherman Alexie National Book Award 2007
Devon Peña  American Library Association, Outstanding   Reference 2006
Devon Peña  New York City Public Library, Best of   Reference 2006
Rick Bonus UW Distinguished Teaching Award 2003
Ana Mari Cauce Society for Community Research and Action Distinguished   Contribution Award 2003
Ana Mari Cauce American Psychological Association Dalmas   A. Taylor Distinguished Contribution Award 2002
Sherman Alexie PEN/Malamud Award 2001
Ana Mari Cauce UW Distinguished Teaching Award 1999
Lauro Flores American Book Award 1999
Devon Peña  Colorado Historical Society, Book of the Year Award 1999
Erasmo Gamboa Oregon State, Civil Rights Trailblazers  Award 1999
Devon Peña  Choice Magazine, Outstanding Academic Book  of the Year Award 1998
Connie So Association for Asian American Studies Service Award 1998
Sherman Alexie American Book Award 1996
Sherman Alexie Lila Wallace-Reader's Digest   Writers' Award 1994
Sherman Alexie PEN/Hemingway Award 1993
Connie So University of California Graduate Fellowship 1993
Ana Mari Cauce APA Excellence in Research Award 1992
Erasmo Gamboa Washington State Governor’s Ethnic Heritage Award 1992
Sherman Alexie NEA Fellowship 1992
John Walter American Book Award 1990
Erasmo Gamboa Washington State Centennial Commission, Hispanic  Humanist Award 1989

Faculty Leadership Positions Held

Leader Position  Duration
Connie So President, Organization of Chinese Americans- Seattle Chapter 2019-Present
Rick Bonus Chair, Search Committees for Professors and Lecturers in Asian American Studies 2016-2017
Gail Nomura Co-Chair, Association for Asian American Studies National Conference Site Commitee 2013
Devon Peña  Chair, National Association for   Chicana and Chicano Studies 2009-2011
Rick Bonus President, Association for Asian American Studies 2009-2011
Ana Mari Cauce President, Society for Community Research and Action 2005-2006
Stephen Sumida President, American Studies Association 2002-2004
Stephen Sumida President, Association for Asian American Studies 1998-2000
Gail Nomura President, Association for Asian American Studies 1995-1997
John Walter President, National Association for Ethnic Studies 1989-1991